Recipes

Roasted Garlic Broccoli Quinoa

Throughout my childhood I remember eating “white spaghetti”. It is still a favorite of mine; chopped broccoli, garlic, olive oil and spaghetti noodles with some salt and pepper. Mmm hmm! But lately I’ve been trying to eat less pasta and replace it with more “green light” items such as quinoa. I strive to eat clean 80% of the time and for me, quinoa is a staple! I believe in a green, yellow and red light system of eating which truly helps me stick to my goals of an 80% clean lifestyle.

Tonight I decided to replace the noodles with quinoa and it was as delicious as the usual dish! I was so HAPPY. My sons absolutely loved it as well!

 

Ingredients:

1 cup quinoa

2 heads of broccoli

4 tablespoons cold pressed extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon lemon juice

7 garlic cloves

Garlic Powder

Salt & Pepper

 

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 while you’re chopping your broccoli into small, even pieces.Smash and mince 4 garlic cloves. Once done chopping broccoli and garlic, mix together with two tablespoons of EVOO and one tablespoon lemon juice. Cook in the oven for 20-30 minutes. (Mine took about 25 minutes). While the broccoli is roasting, cook quinoa according to package instructions with salt, pepper and the rest of the garlic cloves to your quinoa when cooking it.

Once the broccoli is done cooking, put it and 2 tablespoons of EVOO in a food processor or blender and process until the broccoli is the size you’d like it. I enjoyed mine minced. Add the broccoli to your cooked quinoa and adjust salt and pepper flavors as necessary. You may find another splash of lemon juice is tasty!

 

Cheers to happy, healthy eating!

Standard

Leave a Reply

